View on GitHub


A digital version of the Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum

Download this project as a .zip file Download this project as a tar.gz file



The Digital Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum (DFHG) is the digital edition of the five volumes of the Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum edited by Karl Müller (1841-1873). The project provides not a new edition of Greek fragmentary authors, but a computational model for producing digital editions of ancient fragmentary authors and works. The DFHG project is complementary to the Digital Athenaeus project.

The repositories of this GitHub organization contain data about the 636 ancient Greek authors published in the FHG collection.

For a catalog of fragmentary authors published in the FHG, see the DFHG Fragmentary Authors Catalog. The project provides also the Müller-Jacoby Table of Concordance, which is a search engine of authors published in the FHG including correspondences with other collections.

For a complete searchable catalog of the witnesses who preserve text reuses of the FHG authors, see the DFHG Witnesses Catalog. The Catalog offers a Witnesses Map, a Witnesses (Authors) Chart, a Witnesses (Works) Chart, and a Witnesses Timeline. The Catalog includes also experimental text reuse detection.

The project provides a complete list of FHG authors with corresponding LOFTS urns and CITE urns: see DFHG_lofts_cite_urns. On the use of LOFTS and CITE urns for citing FHG authors, read the homepage of the DFHG project.


Creative Commons License
Contents of the DFHG project are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.


  1. DFHG Volumen Primum
  2. DFHG Volumen Secundum
  3. DFHG Volumen Tertium
  4. DFHG Volumen Quartum
    1. DFHG Volumen Quintum Pars Prior
    2. DFHG Volumen Quintum Pars Altera